Office of Small Business Programs (OSBP)

Regional Councils

The Department of Defense (DoD) Regional Councils for Small Business Education and Advocacy are a nationwide network of Small Business Professionals organized to promote the National Small Business Programs of the United States.

There are seven Regional Councils sponsored by the DoD Office of Small Business Programs (OSBP) governed by individual by-laws. Membership is open to small business advocates from the DoD and civilian agencies. Non-voting membership is extended to personnel representing small business interests such as Small Business Development Centers and Procurement Technical Assistance Centers. Some Councils invite the Small Business Liaison Officers representing prime contractors in an effort to promote small business subcontracting. The DoD OSBP is an active participant and advisor to each Council; however, each Council establishes its own committee structure, meeting schedules and agendas.

The Councils' primary objective is to promote the National Small Business Programs to include small, historically underutilized business zone (HUBZone) small, small disadvantaged, women-owned small, veteran-owned small business concerns and historically black colleges and universities, minority institutions and tribal colleges. Additional objectives include promoting the exchange of ideas and experiences, and general information among Small Business Professionals and the contracting community; developing closer relationships and better communication among government entities and the small business community; and staying abreast of statutes, policies regulations, directives, trends and technology affecting the Small Business Program.

Northeast Regional CouncilExternal Link

Chairperson: Philip R. Varney
Small Business Advocate
Department of Army
Natick Soldier Research, Development and Engineering Center
Natick, MA
Phone: (508) 233-4995
Email: philip.r.varney@us.army.mil

Vice Chairperson: David J. Rego
Deputy for Small Business
Naval Undersea Warfare Center Newport
Newport, Rhode Island
Phone: (401) 832-1766
Email: david.rego@navy.mil

Vice Chairperson & Treasurer: Ms. Eva D'Antuono
Small Business Advocate
Department of Army
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Concord, MA
Phone: (938) 318-8427

Mid-Atlantic Regional Council (MARC)External Link

Chairperson: Irene Katacinski
Department of Navy
NSWC Carderock Division
Philadelphia, PA
Phone: (215) 897-7596
Email: irene.katacinski@navy.mil

Vice Chariperson: Rosita Carosella
Defense Logistics Agency
Philadelphia, PA
Phone: (215) 737-8514
Email: rosita.carosella@dla.mil

Secretary: Amy Kim
Small Business Administration
Washington, D.C.
Email: amy.kim@sba.gov

Treasurer: Becky Carpenter
Department of Air Force
Langley AFB, VA
Phone: (757) 764-1621
Email: becky.carpenter@langley.af.mil

Southeast Regional Council (SERC)External Link

Chairperson: Bill Cantrell
Deputy for Small Business
Department of Army
U.S. Army Engineer Research & Development Center
Vicksburg, MS
Phone: (601) 634-3470
Fax: (601) 634-2388
Email: william.d.cantrell@us.army.mil

Vice Chairperson: Lee Ford
Small Business Professional
Department of Army
US Army Aviation & Missile Command (AMSAM-SB)
Redstone Arsenal, AL
Phone: (256) 876-5318
Email: lee.ford@us.army.mil

Treasurer: Christine Ryan
Department of Army
Army Space & Missile Command
Redstone Arsenal, AL
Phone: (256) 955-3412
Email: Christina.ryan@us.army.mil

North Central Regional Council (NCRC)

Chairperson: Douglas Davis
Department of Army
Phone: (309) 794-5205
Email: douglas.d.davis@usace.army.mil

Treasurer: Edwin Beussink
Department of Air Force
HQ AMC/A7K
Phone: (618) 229-0401
Fax: (618) 256-6668
Email: edwin.beussink@scott.af.mil

South Central Regional Council (SCRC)External Link

Chairperson: Dan E. Shackelford
Department of Army
US Army Medical Command
Fort Sam Houston, TX
Phone: (210) 221-4266
DSN: 471-4266
Fax: (210) 221-4126
Email: dan.e.shackelford@amedd.army.mil

Vice Chairperson: Nancy Villarreal
Deputy Associate Director for Small Business
Department of Army
U.S. Army Medical Command
Email: nancy.villarreal@amedd.army.mil

Treasurer: Grace Elizalde
Department of Air Force
San Antonio, TX
AFMC 311th Human Systems Wing/SB
Phone: (210) 536-4347
Email: grace.elizalde@brooks.af.mil

Pacific Northwest Regional Council

Chairperson: Scott V. Beckstrand
U.S. Army Corp of Engineers
Walla Walla, Washington
Phone: (509) 527-7434
Email: scott.v.beckstrand@usace.army.mil

Vice Chairperson: Michael Gilbert
Department of Air Force
U.S. Air Force, Fairchild AFB
Phone: (509) 247-4880
Email: michael.gilbert.3@us.af.mil

Secretary: Diane Kostelecky
Department of Navy
U.S. Navy/NUWC
Phone: (360) 315-6791
Email: diane.kostelecky@navy.mil

Treasurer: Steve Shapro
Department of Navy
US Navy/NAVFAC
Phone: (360) 396-0038
Email: steve.shapro@navy.mil

Western Regional CouncilExternal Link

Chairperson: Willard Strozier
Director of Small Business Programs
Department of Air Force
Space & Missile Systems Center
Phone: (310) 653-1108
Fax: (310) 653-1446
Email: willard.stozier@losangeles.af.mil

Treasurer: Donna L. Thomason
Department of Air Force
Edwards Air Force Base, CA
Phone: (661) 277-3640
Email: donna.thomason@edwards.af.mil