Science & Technology Corner

Department of Defense Names New Class of National Security Science and Engineering Fellows

The Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Research & Engineering is pleased to announce the selection of ten distinguished university faculty scientists and engineers who will form the next class of its National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellows (NSSEFF) program. This program is the longest and largest single principal investigator basic research grant funded within DOD.

“NSSEFF grants are highly competitive, attracting the next generation of outstanding scientists and engineers to some of our most challenging scientific issues and opportunities,” said Dr. Robin Staffin, Director for Basic Research. “The program provides grants to top-tier researchers from U.S. universities to conduct long-term, unclassified, basic research of strategic importance to the Department of Defense.”

Up to $3 million of research support will be granted to each fellow for up to five years, enabling transformative research. The fellows conduct basic research in core science and engineering disciplines that underpin future DOD technology development.

This year’s topics included quantum information science, synthetic biology, neuroscience, nanoscience, and advanced engineered materials. In addition to conducting this unclassified research, the NSSEFF program includes opportunities for fellows to participate in the DOD research enterprise and share their knowledge and insight with DOD military and civilian leaders, researchers in DOD laboratories, and the national security science and engineering community.

Upon successful completion of negotiations between their academic institutions and DOD research offices, grant awards will be made to the faculty members’ home institutions for support of their research.

2014 NSSEFF Awardees

PI Name University Topic Area
Kaushik Roy Purdue University neuromorphic computing
Norbert Scherer University of Chicago optical materials
Yuri Suzuki Stanford University functional materials
Jian Luo University of California, San Diego structural materials
Chad Mirkin Northwestern University nanoscience
Christopher Dwyer Duke University nanoscience
Gregory Engel University of Chicago quantum science
Susan Coppersmith University of Wisconsin-Madison quantum science
Christopher Voigt Massachusetts Institute of Technology synthetic biology
Charan Ranganath University of California, Davis neuroscience

Although this program is sponsored by the Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Research & Engineering, the three military departments’ basic research organizations are involved in this effort.  The program also aims to foster long-term relationships among the fellows, their students, and the Department of Defense.

Updated 5/27/14
Dept of Defense US Air Force OASAALT RDECOM ONR NRL US Air Force Joint Chiefs of Staff Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Force Health Protection & Readiness Defense Threat Reduction Agency Missile Defense Agency Joint Improvised Explosive Device Defeat Organization Chemical & Biological Defense Program