The Navy's Consolidated Automated Support System (CASS) Family of Testers, managed by the Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR), PMA260, is the Navy’s standard ATE for support of electronic systems and is also a DoD designated ATS Family. The CASS Family primarily provides support for naval aviation systems (Navy air and Marine air) at the intermediate maintenance level of support both ashore and afloat in addition to naval aviation repair depots and international program’s repair sites. The CASS Family of Testers is now defined by three generations of Family members grouped by:

- Mainframe CASS (nick named CASS or “Big Blue”)
- Reconfigurable-Transportable CASS or RTCASS
- Electronic CASS or eCASS.

Mainframe CASS was fielded starting in the early 1990’s with 613 stations being deployed around the world and today continues to demonstrate strong performance towards meeting its initial primary objectives:

Increased weapon system material readiness
Reduced weapon system initial, support and life cycle costs
Reduced proliferation of peculiar support equipment
Improved tester availability
Navy-wide testing capability for existing and future electronic requirements

Today Mainframe CASS has capability to support over 3,000 different aviation system repairables and is fielded in five configurations:
1) Hybrid (HYB);
2) Radio Frequency (RF);
3) Communications, Navigation, and Identification (CNI);
4) Electro-Optical (EO);
5) High Power (HP)

Mainframe CASS (nick named CASS or “Big Blue”)

The aviation Marine Corps required a more transportable ATE so the Reconfigurable-Transportable CASS or RTCASS Family was developed to meet this requirement. The RTCASS Family comprises two Marine Corps operational level configurations deployed in Mobil Maintenance Facilities (MMFs) supporting the full range of Marine Corps aircraft:

- RTCASS (providing hybrid, digital and RF test capability)
- RTCASS HP (adds high power test capability)

The RTCASS was designed to operate the Mainframe CASS legacy Test program Sets (TPSs). The RTCASS and RTCASS HP Family members were made operational in the 2010 timeframe. The RTCASS configuration also supports the US SOCOM V-22 aircraft program. The RTCASS D is a variant of the RTCASS design targeted to repair depot sites that is packaged in commercial level racks and adds select technologies for optimizing board level test capability.

The RTCASS was designed to operate the Mainframe CASS legacy Test program Sets (TPSs)
The early production blocks of Mainframe CASS are now approaching 25 years of service and NAVAIR PMA260 has initiated a Mainframe CASS replacement program to address obsolescence issues while adding the test capabilities required by forthcoming weapon systems. The eCASS Family will begin to replace the Mainframe CASS Family starting in late 2017. As with the RTCASS Family the eCASS is designed to afford easy “migration” of the legacy CASS TSPs to the newer generation eCASS tester. The eCASS Family will field in four configurations:

- eCASS Hybrid

eCASS will be the primary support for the operational Navy aviation.
By about 2025 the eCASS Family members will replace the Mainframe CASS at the intermediate level of maintenance but CASS will continue to be used at repair depots and by international programs. So, at that time, eCASS will be the primary support for the operational Navy aviation while RTCASS will be the primary support system for the operational Marine aviation. However, eCASS will support Marine aviation afloat.
For technical assistance contact the Sustainment Webmaster
Copyright © OUSD A&S ARA eBusiness Center. 1995 - 2014. All rights reserved.
Download PDF Viewer | Download Word Doc Viewer | Download Excel Viewer | Download PowerPoint Viewer